go ahead…I know that you are now singing that song….well, if you are anywhere near my age you are. I have been up to a lot of nothing this weekend, mostly trying to get better and also just needed some “do nothing” time. even though, I did manage to cook a couple of times and my laundry is just about caught up, so my “do nothing” time is not exactly doing nothing.

what I did do a lot of….is “pin” – if you are addicted to Pinterest, then you know exactly what I mean by that. funny thing, as I was pinning things to my boards, I realized that I have been doing the very same thing in a literal sense for as long as I can remember. having an addiction to decorating magazines since I was about 18….I still have a few from way back when….as in, maybe the early 90’s! in addition to a quite impressive stash of pages torn out of hundreds of magazines over the years.

seems my tastes have only changed a little….and I have always favored a similar style and color scheme. shades of blush and aquamarine and every shade of white. I think my first real obsession was with a laura ashley home catalog that I still have to this day….it was shabby chic before anyone knew what that was and I really loved looking through that one for years.

my love affair with the ocean is very much a part of my style….my favorite colors definitely are a example of that. the different shades of sand and the colors of the ocean and the sky. if I close my eyes, I can see myself sitting on the beach in a tropical paradise….a little bungalow off to the left and the palm trees leaning into the ocean. ~~~

as for being a foodie….recipes that are appetizing to my eyes will get me every time. I am not a “live to eat” kind of girl..but when I do eat, I want it to be wonderful….even something as simple as a sandwich. I shudder to think about all of the processed foods I have consumed over all of these years…..learning about ingredients was not something I even thought about until about 10 years ago. I have worked hard to try to use healthier ingredients, organic when feasible and would rather go without than to eat junk. don’t get me wrong, it is not something I can control 100%….but the things I can control, I do…..organic meat and milk….always….and whole grains….and so on.

sitting here at home today….still feeling under the weather a bit…so I got to thinking about the things that make me smile. then suddenly, out of the blue, I started singing that song from The Sound of Music……

my jammies, some fresh kona coffee, my blanket and an old movie…..these are a few of my favorite things.

OoXx

